> Home > Newsroom

CF welcomes His Highness Aga Khan to Lisbon

Following the 2013 António Champalimaud Vision Award ceremony, on September 7th the Champalimaud Foundation hosted the “Seminar of the 2013 Aga Khan Award for Architecture”.

  1. 11.9.2013

    Champalimaud Foundation President, Leonor Beleza, welcomed around 350 participants to the “Seminar of the 2013 Aga Khan Award for Architecture”, among whom were Faroukh Derakhshani, Director of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Jorge Barreto Xavier, Secretary of State for Culture, and His Highness Aga Khan.

    With a financial value of around 1 million Dollars, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture was created in 1977 by His Highness Aga Khan and is attributed every three years with the aim of recognising construction projects with direct impact in communities. The 2013 winners were the Pont Hassan II urban infrastructure project, the revitalisation of the historic centre of Birzeit, in Palestine, the Islamic Cemetery in Altach, Austria, the reconstruction of the Tabriz Bazaar, in Iran, and the Salam Centre for Cardiac Surgery, in Cartum, Sudan.

    Members of Jury responsible for evaluating the projects and choosing the eventual winners were present at the Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown to participate in the Seminar.

    Following the event, the Champalimaud Foundation welcomed His Highness Aga Khan on a tour of the Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown, including the Champalimaud Clinical Centre and the research laboratories. 

  1. Go back


RSS feed

Keep up to date with the latest news on the Champalimaud Foundation by subscribing our RSS feed. RSS feed